Around the ‘hood

Published February 27, 2012 by housecrazy

I like to have context when I view a house (where is it, what’s the neighborhood like, what’s the weather like) so I thought I would share a little more of my world with you…

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

My house is located in a historic commercial district right in downtown Canon City, Colorado. I walked my spastic, crazy dog around this past weekend and was able to snap some pics of my neighborhood.

Even though my house is zoned commercial, it has always been residential (as far as I can tell from the records) dating back to the 1880’s. It is set on a beautiful block with other historic homes but most – actually all but 2 – have been converted to businesses.

On one side of my house is a doctor’s office. On the other side, a doctor’s office. Across the street, a lawyer’s office, a music studio and a Presbyterian church. Further down the road, a mortuary and a Victorian tea house.

I can see the steeple from the Presbyterian church out my upstairs bathroom window. This is a view (through the trees) of the church from my side yard:

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

That’s my freshly painted white picket fence (above).

Here’s a view from my yard of the “three craftsman cuties” right across the street:

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

They are the “newer” houses on the block. Only one is still used as a private residence. That’s pretty much the only non-church or non-commercial neighbor that I have on the whole block!

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

(That’s my house – left center – above)

My street is just one block behind Main Street, so I’ll take you around that way first.

This old house (below) is now used as a doctor’s office, it is the only other house on my block that is as old as my house – even older than the Presbyterian church!

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

As you can see, it has been completely covered with stucco so it doesn’t look that old.

There is another church located on the corner of Main street around the block from my house (not sure what denomination it is – perhaps Methodist – there are so many churches around here, it’s hard to keep them straight!)

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

Rounding the corner, here we are on Main Street…

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

Directly behind my house on Main Street is Anabelle’s.

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

Anabelle’s used to be a gift shop/boutique but it closed down a couple of years ago. I believe it is now used as a vacation rental because on occassion I see cars there with plates from all over the western United States.

This is a view of Anabelle’s from the back side (across the back alley from my house):

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

I love the striped blue and white awning… but it really needs a good cleaning.

Just a couple doors down Main Street from Anabelle’s is the 1940’s Standard Oil Company Building (currently for sale)…

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

And on the other corner of Main Street is the historic St. Cloud Hotel:

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

The St. Cloud Hotel has been for sale for a couple of years, but I couldn’t find an active listing on it, so it may have recently sold.

Going up the street is this lovely brick home now used as office space…

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

It resembles a brick tudor-style home:

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

And directly across the street from that brick house is the old stone Presbyterian Church:

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

(I know for a fact that this one is a Presbyterian Church because my mom goes there when she comes to visit and she is a Presbyterian).

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

The church has a cornerstone that says it was built in 1900. It is constructed in the Richardson Romanesque style with a Queen Anne-style bell tower.

Here it is from the west side:

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

The church’s steeple can be seen from most areas around Canon City. The bell in the bell tower rings every Sunday, twice a day in the morning! (So much for sleeping in on Sundays when you have that across the street from your house!)

Kitty-corner to the Presbyterian church is the First Baptist Church (I wasn’t kidding – there are LITERALLY churches on every corner here!)

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

The First Baptist Church (1892) was made from locally quarried pink sandstone.

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

Across the street from the Baptist Church is the County Administration Building – jarring 1970’s-style architecture that does not at all fit in with its Victorian era surroundings:

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

It’s an interesting building, to be sure, but it just doesn’t mesh with the rest of the ‘hood.

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

Back on my block, my closest neighbor is this beautiful home-turned-doctor’s-office:

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

And, full circle, back to my little abode:

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

photo credit: Sarah Felix Burns

The neighbors are probably muttering: “there’s that crazy blonde with the camera again!”

I’m such a house stalker.

But I believe these wonderful historic buildings should be celebrated and shared… so I don’t feel too guilty about splashing photos of them across the internet. I think it’s what their original builders would have wanted. 🙂

4 comments on “Around the ‘hood

  • What a pretty neighborhood you live in! I like that the older houses were re-purposed as commercial space rather than being torn down to make way for ugly office buildings.

  • Leave a Reply

