Look what blew in overnight

Published February 23, 2012 by housecrazy

You know a storm is approaching Colorado when it gets really windy.

Last night, it was REALLY windy.

The wind howled all night long as I curled up in my bed and prayed that the power didn’t go out or that an old window didn’t blow out. Things go wrong when the weather is bad around here. The pipes freeze, the power flickers off, and I get very grumpy.

But my old house always quietly assures me, “I’ve been here over 130 years… I’m not going anywhere.”

Yes, housecrazy Sarah’s house talks to her.

When I woke up to my alarm this morning (yay! electricity!) I went downstairs to survey the damage outside. By the back door, my feet were crunching on all this… dirt.

WTH??? I just cleaned this floor yesterday!

Apparently we need to replace the weather-stripping, because look what the wind blew in under the door last night:

don't you just love a clean-up job first thing in the morning?

Waves of dust, dirt and crud. How fun.

Outside, no trees (or limbs) were down but the wind had blown my patio chairs clean over:

Uh oh… red sky in the morning – sailors take warning!

Sure enough, less than an hour later:

Yuck.

I live in Colorado, and I’m from Canada, but I hate snow. I mean, I HATE SNOW.

My kids, on the other hand, love snow.

Whenever it snows out, my two-year-old daughter breaks out in song:

“I lub snow, I lub snow, I lub sno-o-ow!” (to the tune of jingle bells)

At least the kiddos are entertained.

4 comments on “Look what blew in overnight

  • I guess you can be thankful it wasn’t a mini snow drift in your kitchen this morning……. I know I’m getting old, because I no longer ‘lub’ snow either….and could really go for a winter WITHOUT it! But I’m IN Canada….I don’t think it’s gonna happen, at least not here in the Sault. Love the blogs Sarah! Keep up the good work.

  • Leave a Reply

